Wednesday, July 10, 2019

[apeid.higher_education.bgk] Second call for nominations - Wenhui Award

Note: Closing date for nominations - 31 July 2019


Wenhui () Award for Educational Innovation 2019

Promoting University and School Partnerships in Advancing the Education 2030 Agenda


The 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) have set an ambitious target to leave no one behind by calling on all stakeholders and partners to eradicate poverty, inequality and hunger; to provide quality universal education; to protect our planet; and to build sustainable cities, communities and societies. Of particular relevance to the education community is SDG 4-Education 2030 Agenda which aims to ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all by 2030; and we have only 11 years left to meet this goal!


Clearly, from a lifelong learning perspective, education should flow seamlessly from cradle-to-grave. The transition from early childhood education, to primary and secondary education, and to post-secondary and tertiary education, as well in non-formal education, must not hinder learning at any stage.


The Wenhui () Award for Educational Innovation was established by the National Commission of the People's Republic of China for UNESCO in 2010. In collaboration with the Chinese Society of Education and coordinated by UNESCO Bangkok, the Wenhui Award aims to recognize the contributions of educators and institutions which have optimized the potential of education and the human innovative spirit to address and resolve pressing issues and problems facing our world today.


For 2019, the theme of the Wenhui Award is Promoting University and School Partnerships in Advancing the Education 2030 Agenda, aiming to recognize successful university-school partnerships that have contributed to quality education and lifelong learning in preparing children and youth for life, work and citizenship.


Two individuals or institutions from the Asia and Pacific region will be selected by a jury of distinguished educators. The winners will each receive a Certificate of Excellence and prize money of US$ 20,000. Certificates of Merit may also be awarded to individuals or institutions that have demonstrated commendable innovative practices.


Who is eligible for the Award?

Individuals or institutions from UNESCO Member States in Asia and the Pacific region that have designed and implemented significant educational innovations in the professional development of teachers leading to improved access to, and quality in, education and skills development will be eligible for the Award.


How to apply for the Award?

Applications can be submitted by government agencies, educational institutions, international organizations, non-governmental organizations and individuals in UNESCO Member States in the Asia and Pacific region. All applications should reach the Award Secretariat at UNESCO Bangkok by 31 July 2019 through the National Commissions for UNESCO, UNESCO Offices and other organizations associated with UNESCO, using the official Award Application Form and Consent Form, to be downloaded from the Award website. More details about the Award, including the evaluation criteria, application process and conditions of entry are also available at the Award website:


For further information, contact:  


Wenhui Award Secretariat
UNESCO Bangkok
920 Sukhumvit Road, Prakanong
Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Tel: (66-2) 391-0577
Fax: (66-2) 391-0866


No comments: